top of page

What's in my 'pantry' - My bulk essentials


I love nothing more than an aesthetically pleasing photo of a zero waste pantry from Pinterest.

I wish I had a beautiful pantry stocked to the brim with jars full of every item sold in my local bulk store and beautiful hand crafted labels... but let's get real here!


I don't have that. What I do have though are some rather sturdy plastic draw towers full of jars with their contents written with a sharpie pen! It will do.


I've been bulk shopping for over 1 and a half years now. I look back at when I used to take a 1.5 hour train to Penzance once a month to shop at the Weigh inn in Penzance. Times have definitely changed since then. There are now 6 'zero waste' shops with 2 more opening this year. How incredible is that! Change is happening and we can see it right in front of our eyes .


The two bulk stores I now shop in are The ReFill store in Truro and Un-rap in Falmouth.


I pretty much buy exactly the same items every time I visit so I thought I would put together a list of everything that is an a essential in my pantry.

My bulk essentials:

Cereals:

- Jumbo poridge oats

Grains and rice

- Long grain brown rice

- Quinoa

- Popcorn kernals

- Arborio rice

Pasta:

I change pasta shape every time but there is usually:

- Penne

- Bows

- Fusili

- Spaghetti

- Rice noodles

Pulses and beans:

- Mixed beans

- Chickpeas

- Kidney beans

- Green lentils

- Red lentils

Dried fruit:

- Raisins

- Sometimes dried cranberries

Nuts and seeds:

- Mixed nuts

- Brazil nuts

- Peanuts (to make peanut butter, YUM!)

- Sesame seeds

- Pine nuts

- Omega 3 seed mix

- Desiccated coconut

- Chia seeds

- Flax seeds

Herbs and Spices:

- Basil

- Oregano

- Garlic granules

- Onion granules

- Mixed herbs

- Chilli powder

- Cumin

- Salt

- Pepper

- Turmeric

- Curry powder

- Smoked paprika

- Cinnamon sticks

- Ground giner

Tea and Coffee:

- Coffee beans

- Loose peppermint tea

- Loose Chai tea

Baking:

- Cocoa powder

- Bicarbonate of soda

- Baking power

- Cornstarch

- Icing sugar

- Plain flour

- Demerera sugar

- White sugar

- Coconut sugar

- Plain flour

- Self raising flour

- Caster sugar

- Arrowroot powder

Other:

- Nutritional Yeast

I also buy toothpaste tablets, floss, washing up liquid and soap nuts from the bulk store.

Cornish bulk stores:

Bulk sections:

Coming soon -

Opening the 1st March - The ReFill Store, Goonhavern garden centre

bottom of page