top of page

My favourite DIY face moisturiser


Since running out of my daily moisturiser in a plastic bottle I was at a loss for what to use on my face. For a while I didn't use any product to moisturise my skin, however found that patches of dryness were appearing. I have always been skeptical about using coconut oil, not just because I heard that It can clog your drains, but also because I've heard that it can clog your pores. A few months ago I started using coconut oil on my face before going to bed. I would smoother it on and wonder why I was getting spots. After making this moisturiser (Which surprisingly contains coconut oil) I have realised that using coconut oil is fine on my skin... in moderation! This recipe however may not work for your skin, so I would make a smaller batch before making the full recipe as it creates a lot of product.



Here is the recipe:


Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil

  • 2½ tablespoons cocoa butter

  • ½ tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

1. Melt the coconut oil in a bowl, over a saucepan of hot water.

2. Add the other ingredients and heat until the cocoa butter has melted.

3. Remove from the heat.

4. Let the mixture cool slightly, place in a container and shake vigorously. Shake again after a few minutes and store in the fridge until solidified.

I leave mine out of the fridge once hardened so it softens a little making it easier to use. If it melts too much, simply put it back in the fridge.

To use, simply rub a small amount of the moisturiser onto your face using your fingers.

~You may need to soften the mixture with a finger beforehand or simply use a sharp tool to get some of the mixture out of the jar and melt with your fingers~

bottom of page