top of page

A beginners guide to Zero Waste - Easy swaps


Is your new year resolution to produce less waste but you don't know where to start? Well here is my very own beginners guide to get you started!


Starting your zero waste journey can be very intimidating and overwhelming at first. There are so many things you can change and learn about which can leave your brain in a bit of a state! But don't panic! The aim of a zero waste journey is to take one step at a time and slowly transition into a less wasteful lifestyle. As I have previously mentioned, it is impossible to be completely waste free and it may take many years for you to transition fully by slowly replacing items over time. Although those zero waste bloggers who kept three years of trash in a tiny mason jar are an inspiration, we must take into account aspects of our own lives that may affect the amount of waste we create.


For example, I take prescription medication every day and cannot get away from the plastic packaging they come in. I am also still in the process of using up items prior to my zero waste journey and therefore am still throwing out waste from many years ago. I am no zero waste expert but a regular girl trying to make a difference, raise awareness and help others trying to reduce their impact on the environment.


So where should you start?


Beginners top tip

- Analyze the items in your bin.

what are the main categories of trash you throw away?

Food waste, food packaging, beauty products?

Start to research and think of alternatives to these products or where you can find them package free!


Step #1

- Stop using disposable items


Refuse disposable cutlery, coffee cups, straws, plates and plastic bags. These items will get sent to landfill and never biodegrade if made out of plastic. There are many alternatives you can use to prevent having to buy single-use plastics.


Coffee cups:


Many people believe that disposable coffee cups can be easily recycled because they are made out of paper, however, they are actually lined with a plastic coating that keeps the cup waterproof so it can hold liquids. There are only three recycling centers in the UK that have special facilities to recycle these cups. This, unfortunately, results in less than 1% of these cups being recycled and those that do make it to the recycling plant are transported by vehicles that produce high amounts of carbon emissions.


In the UK alone, we throw away 2.5 billion of these coffee cups EVERY year, with half a million being littered every day. To prevent using disposable coffee cups, I use this Ecoffee bamboo cup which I carry around with me every day. It is made out of sustainable bamboo fibers and is dishwasher friendly. You can use it in most high street coffee shops and will keep your drink hot! I got mine from the local natural store for £9.99 but you can also order them online.


My bamboo fibre ecoffee cup

Straws:


Why do bartenders insist on putting 2 straws in a cocktail for 'decoration'. I believe that straws are the most unnecessary single-use plastic there is. They last an average of 20 mins before being thrown into a bin or on to the streets. They end up in our oceans where they float and end up being stuck up turtles noses. Straws cannot break down or be recycled therefore will remain on the Earth forever. I do understand that some people need to use straws which is where these handy reusable options come in handy.


You can now purchase:

- Glass straws

- Bamboo straws

- Paper straws

- Silicone straws

- Stainless steel straws


I am yet to find straws without plastic packaging, however, I feel strongly that throwing away a small piece of plastic packaging (or trying to reuse it) is much better than to keep using disposable straws. I ordered mine from eBay for around £2 each but I have also found them in Lakeland and via eco friendly buisnesses online.



























Rose gold coloured stainless steel straws are my new fave thing!


Plastic carrier bags:


Statistics show that we use approximately 500 billion plastic bags every year which is insane! These single-use bags end up in our oceans and can kill 100,000 marine creatures every year due to entanglement and ingestion. Plastic bags are specifically an issue for marine turtles. As a plastic bag can resemble a jellyfish underwater, these creatures mistake them for food and cannot regurgitate them due to their highly advanced digestive system. These plastic bags will block the digestive tract causing the animal to starve to death. These plastics also release toxins which will enter the animals fat and muscles, altering the anatomical and physiological systems of the animal.


I take cotton tote bags, canvas bags, and bulk bags with me when I do my weekly food shop. By having these bags I am not only saving 5p or more but also saving another animals life and another bag from laying in a landfill forever. You can purchase canvas shopping bags in most supermarkets and cost around £3 while I shop for tote bags in my local charity shops and either buy bulk bags online or make my own from spare fabric.

Canvas bags available from most supermarkets

Bulk bags for holding loose whole foods - Handmade shell bag and others from chairty shop

Organic cotton bulk bags from an online store



Plastic water bottles and other takeaway items:


So many cafes and takeaway shops use plastic disposable items such as cutlery, plastic water bottles, and polystyrene takeaway boxes. These plastics are weak and end up breaking into smaller pieces before entering the ocean where they are mistaken for food and are ingested by marine life. To prevent using these disposables I carry with me a reusable stainless steel water bottle, cutlery set, and Tupperware.


I bought my water bottle from Home Bargains for £2.99 and was gifted my stainless steel Tupperware for Christmas. I already owned the cutlery device from previous camping trips as a child #zerowastewin.


You can order stainless steel bottles here

and stainless steel tupperware here




Beginners top tip


- You do not need to go out and spend money on fancy zero waste equipment!


Reuse what you already have and use up old products before purchasing new ethical and sustainable items.


Do you have any old glass jars you can use as food storage?


Charity shops are an excellent place to find mason jars and non-plastic cookware/Tupperware.


Most of my jars are from chairty shops or reused from shop produce



Step #2

- Shop locally and package free


Try to buy local and unpackaged food:


It is super hard to find unpackaged food nowadays and supermarkets tend to have a rubbish selection of unpackaged fruit and veg! Look around your local area to find farm shops and markets where farmers may sell their produce unpackaged! Also, try and locate any bulk stores that sell whole foods in bulk bins. All you do is take in your container, weigh it empty, fill it with magic goods and weigh again. All produce is priced by weight and you minus the container tare weight to get your price. If you are like me and struggle with numbers, don't worry. Most store workers will do all the calculations for you! Easy peasy but don't forget your bulk bags!


Buying unpackaged food means you will most likely avoid processed junk food. It will not only have a good impact on the environment but also your health! If you really can't live without a certain cake or sweet, have a think 'can I make that at home waste free?'.


If you eat meat, fish, and dairy, I would try shopping at your local butchers, fishmonger or cheese counter and ask whether you can use your own containers to prevent using their plastic wrap. In some areas of the UK, you can get milk delivered to your door in glass bottles via a milkman service, just like old times!



null













Zero waste food shopping. All from my local farm shop, nearest bulk store and every day supermarket!


Compost food waste:


The easiest way to dispose of your food scraps is by compost. This method allows the waste to break down naturally and turn it into an amazing soil for your garden. My knowledge of composting is 0 right now but I just dump all of my veg and fruit scraps into my landlady's compost bin and she does the rest. You can compost both outdoors and indoors so no excuses! Some farmers markets, especially those in London have a compost stall where you can bring your scraps and they will take it off you.


Find out more here

and here



Step #3

- Beauty and hygiene


Body care:

Once you have finished your plastic bottled shampoo, conditioner and body wash you can easily switch to bars of soap and shampoo bars. I buy my shampoo bars from Lush and store them in a metal lush tin and use unpackaged soap from natural/health stores in my area. My lush conditioner, unfortunately, does come in a plastic tub however you can send back all of your lush packagings to your local store and they will recycle/reuse it. You can also use a natural loofah sponge to exfoliate your skin instead of plastic shower puffs. I found my loofah unpackaged in Wilkinsons for £1 and they can be composted.




























Avocado oil soap bar in homemade Lush shampoo bar and natural loofah coconut shell soap dish


Oral care:

Looking after your teeth is very important yet every dental product is made out of plastic! So what can we use instead? You can swap your plastic toothbrush for a bamboo one. I, unfortunately, haven't found one with plant-based bristles, however, once the brush needs replacing you can pull the bristles out and compost the bamboo stick. Better than nothing I suppose! You can get bamboo toothbrushes with different bristle softness therefore suitable for everyone. I bought mine from my local health shop

I make my own dentist approved tooth powder from the 'Going Zero Waste' blog, however, I am still unsure on it so have been alternating between that and Euthymol toothpaste which comes in a metal tube. I also make DIY mouthwash which I love!


I am currently not zero waste of floss. The only solution is biodegradable silk floss, however, I am vegan so don't agree with this method! I would like to buy a water flosser one day however the better quality brands are priced from £60 ><.


Brushing with bamboo is easy!

Zero waste oral care (nearly)



I hope this blog post gives you an insight into easy alternatives you can use to produce less waste. I wanted to create a video so it wasn't as long, however, my camera said no! I will be uploading a blog post in the future showing you more alternatives to be even more zero waste. For the meantime.. good luck with your journey!

bottom of page