top of page

My Low Waste / Minimal Packing Challenge - I'm Going On Holiday!!


Yay I'm finally going on holiday for the first time in around 3 years! This year i'm heading to Portugal for just under 2 weeks and i'm trying to pack as minimally and as low waste as possible! I've never been to Portugal before and therefore I'm super excited to explore a new area, culture and hopefully try out some new activities *cough paragliding!*


I'm only taking a cabin bag with me and therefore I HAVE to pack lightly. Before I learnt about minimalism I was the type of person who would stuff their whole wardrobe into a large suitcase and still have to sit on it to zip it up or get everything in. I felt like I would run out of items or get bored of what I brought with me if I didn't pack my entire room up and ship it across the world.


*inserts funny picture*



Well not anymore! I have even written down a list of outfits I can create using the same clothes over and over! I am no way a minimalist. I still own WAY TOO MUCH, however I am slowly de-cluttering and trying my hardest to pack as little possible for this holiday! I am also hopefully going to be using up a lot of my packaged products that I owned before I started my zero waste journey such as sun cream, moisturisers and makeup.


So what am I packing???


Clothes:


*8 tops

*3 pairs of shorts

*3 skirts

*3 dresses

*2 bikinis + a swimming costume

*2 beach coverups and a kimono




 

*1 pair of sandals

*1 set of Pj's and underwear

*A variety of bags

 

Beauty:

*Safety razor with extra blade *Makeup

*Bar of soap *Makeup remover pads and remover

*Shampoo bar *Toothpaste tablets

*Conditioner bar *3 bamboo toothbrushes (Incase I lose one)

*Flannels *Tongue cleaner and floss


.


*Supplements

*Sleep spray

*Travel sickness bands

*Plug adapter

*Deodrant balm

*The last of my suncream!

*Homemade face moisturiser

*The last body moisturiser

*2 pairs of sunglasses

*Perfume

*Hair brush and hair bands

 

Miscellaneous

*Stainless steel water bottle and sterilisers *Cloth napkins

*The most important item: pizza lilo *Produce bags and a tote bag

*Snorkel *Metal straws

*Beach towel *Glass mason jar and wooden cutlery

I am also planning on borrowing some items from my mum such as some flip flops, another water bottle and some more evening wear. I am also bringing my camera with me (obviously) and all items that cannot be taken on as hand luggage i.e safety razor will be put into my mums large suitcase. I am also happy to announce that all of this fits into my bag :D Yipee! Holiday time!

bottom of page