top of page

A 'zero-waster' abroad - My guide to creating less trash whilst on holiday!



Travelling somewhere new whilst trying to live a zero waste life style is scary yet exciting. We are so used to having our own routines and practises which are essential for being able to create less trash in our lives. Being in another place, especially abroad can throw us right in the deep end as to how we can lower our impact while travelling. I recently travelled to Lagos in Portugal where I attempted to create as little trash as possible while being in a new country, with a different language and a different way of living. Here is my very own guide for surviving a zero waste/low waste life style abroad.


1. Don't expect to be perfect and don't be too hard on yourself in negative situations.


Being in a new area means that you may have to make sacrifices or purchase items in packaging as that is the only option. Don't expect to go away and not produce any trash because the probability is very unlikely! Instead of focusing on the negatives however, think about the positive changes you can make while away, such as avoiding disposables and being prepared. During my trip I kept a trash jar to keep myself on track of what I was wasting. The trash jar method isn't for everybody, however as I keep a regular trash jar at home I thought I would implement the same method whilst away. I brought my trash jar home with me and therefore I can evaluate it in my monthly trash jar updates.

 

2. Research the area you are travelling to before arriving.


It is very beneficial to look into the area you are travelling to. This will allow you to be more prepared and can prevent you becoming stressed in certain situations. Google local restaurants if you have specific dietary requirements, I recommend Trip Advisor as I found many low waste, vegan cafes hidden in the area which I never would have found. You can also look up local farmers markets and craft fairs in which you can buy local, handmade produce and gifts. Trip Advisor is a great web page to browse as people who have visited local attractions provide reviews and can help steer you towards the best places to visit.

 

3. Prepare, prepare, prepare!


Pack lightly and as low waste as possible. Use shampoo, conditioner and soap bars instead of liquids to allow more space for other items. Pack zero waste essentials such as bamboo toothbrushes ( I recommend bringing two in case you lose one!), produce bags, tote bags, bamboo cutlery, stainless steel water bottles, metal straws etc. Create a zero waste kit to carry around with you so that you are always prepared!


You are allowed to take food through the airport onto the plane with you and therefore you can meal prep in advance and pack it in a reusable container. I would recommend sandwiches, nuts and dried fruits and crudities etc. The airport staff may get funny about meals with sauces due to the liquid limit and therefore I would stick to solid foods! I purchased Japanese rice crackers from the bulk store where I live to take on the plane as well as peanut butter and jam sandwiches and a massive tub of strawberries from the farmers market. On the way home from Portugal I took tropical mix from the bulk section of the super market in a glass jar to prevent having to buy packaged food on the plane. You are not allowed to bring metal cutlery with you onto the plane and therefore I recommend purchasing a wooden/bamboo cutlery set. You are allowed to bring in stainless steel water bottle but they must be empty whilst going through security. Most airports have refill stations after security or you could simply just ask restaurants or cafes to fill it up from the tap for free.


If you are in an area with drinkable tap water, fill your bottle up before you go out and carry it with you at all times! If if is undrinkable you can buy a variety of water purifiers and sterilisers which work wonders! If all fails... buy water in the biggest bottle possible.













 

4. Once at your destination, take a walk around the area to see what waste facilities and local hot spots are.


I was very lucky to discover that down the road from our villa, there were multiple recycling bins and even a compost!! I can openly admit that I got super excited and saved all of my food scraps to send back to the earth. The compost bins in Portugal were very different to the compost bins that I use here in Cornwall. There was a label which showed what could be placed in them and these items included: food scraps including animal products, nappies, ceramics and paper napkins. Due to this they smelt absolutely awful but I'd rather hold my breath then throw things into landfill. During my walk I also found multiple supermarkets selling loose produce and bulk sections!! Once again, always try and bring produce bags with you so you are prepared. I missed out on many awesome bulk options because I forgot my produce bags :(























 

5. Keep a notebook on you with key words or phrases written in the country's language.


Here's a scenario for you.


You walk into a really cute bar and you want to ask for no straw in your drink or a specific dietary requirement. The employees don't speak your language very well and get confused.


What do you do?


Whip out the notebook where you are have written 'no straw please' in their language and show it to them. Taadaa! Holiday hack.


I was fortunate to not have to use this as I visited an area which was known to be a tourist hot spot in summer and therefore the English was very good. I only had one straw incident, but it was paper! I also wrote in my book that I was vegan and that I couldn't eat any animal products. Once again, only one incident but I tried to be as prepared as possible.

 

6. Be brave


Don't be afraid to stand out and ask for no straw or to have something put in your own container. You are saving the world and you are being a badass. People may look at you confused at first but by doing these things you could spark change in someone else! My favourite memory whist being away was finding an ice cream shop that sold vegan sorbet and I asked for it to be put in my glass mason jar. The man behind the counter had a little giggle to himself but I mentioned that I try to live plastic free and he agreed that too much plastic was used and things need to change.



'

















So there are my top tips and hints on how to live a low waste life style whilst abroad. We must understand that we can only do our best in these situations and that even small changes are going to have a mega positive impact on the environment. Here are a few more photos from my time away. Peace out!





bottom of page