top of page

Zero Waste Makeup - Product Review


Zero waste makeup has been one of the struggles I've encountered since starting my low waste journey. Although I still have an extensive collection of makeup I'm trying to use up, I've been trying to think of solutions for when the time comes and I run out of my pre-owned items.


I was contacted by a company called Love The Planet who make zero waste, vegan, cruelty free, palm oil and paraben free beauty products. After becoming extremely excited about this possible solution to my troubles they very kindly sent me some of their products to try and review.


Love The Planet is a zero waste UK brand that are trying to solve the plastic issue around makeup and beauty products. They believe that by taking small steps you can begin to make a difference.


I have been very lucky to try out 4 of their products:


- Storm eyeshadow


- Sparkle eyeshadow


- Mineral Concealer

*Medium


- Mineral foundation

* Nude



Love The Planet package their products in home compostable sachets made from brown kraft paper, cellulose and starch film. This allows the customer to decant the products into an existing container, and then dispose of the packaging in the most eco-friendly way possible. Their products are also sent out in brown paper and paper tape which I am very impressed with. If you do not have a home composter, you can add the packaging to your food waste bin.


Eyeshadow review:



The first thing I noticed were the beautiful colours of these products. The storm eyeshadow is a gothic dark green/grey shade and the sparkle eyeshadow is soooo sparkly! Two things that I am currently loving.


The colours are highly pigmented and as a powder you can build up the layers to reach your desired shade. If you want maximum impact you can add a small bit of water to the product; something I will definitely try next time I wear it!


I wore the Storm eyeshadow product as a base colour and then added a little stroke of the sparkle eyeshadow on top and in the corners for a shimmery effect. I love the combination of the two products and they are definitely my new favourites. The colour lasted all night without fading or needing a touch up and it was even still on my face when I woke up the next morning after being lazy and not taking my makeup off (Gross I know XD)


You can find more information about these products below:















Concealer and Foundation review:

I've never worn a mineral/powder concealer or foundation before and as somebody who suffers from dry skin in certain areas on the face, I was worried that the powder would enhance this, but to my surprise it didn't!


I tried the concealer first and my reaction was woooooow! I am amazed at the consistency and coverage of this powder and similar to the eyeshadow you can build up a number of layers until you've reached your desired shade. It covered up my imperfections without looking like I had any product on and the power felt light, unlike my previous liquid items that felt like they clogged my skin.


My makeup was looking beautiful by this point, so what did I do? Ruin it of course!

Never using powder before I put WAY too much onto my brush and it went everywhere!

A lot of blending and lightly brushing some of the powder off my face reversed the issue. A little definitely goes a long way!


I absolutely love this foundation and I am never going back to liquid again. It felt so nice on my skin and like the concealer, it didn't feel too heavy. I was worried that my makeup would melt off throughout the night and top ups would be needed, but the products felt stuck to my face (in a good way) and I didn't have to top up once.


I must say, I am also very impressed with my shade guessing skills as both the concealer and foundation powders were the perfect colour for my skin. If you are unsure what colour would best suit your skin, Love The Planet can send smaller samples for you to use.


You can find more information about these products below:
















I am so impressed with this makeup and I would definitely purchase for Love The Planet again. Not only are they low waste but they are also affordable compared to other Zero waste makeup brands I've seen.


On their website they sell:


- A variety of concealer shades

- A variety of foundation shades

- Translucent perfecting powder

- A variety of blusher shades

- A variety of eyeshadow shades


I very highly recommend checking them out and trying their products for yourself!


You can follow Love The Planet on their:


Website: https://lovetheplanet.co.uk/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lovetheplanetuk/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lovetheplanetuk/?


Thank you so much Love The Planet for gifting me these amazing products <3






bottom of page