top of page

What's in my trash jar? - June 2018 + holiday waste!


Double trouble on this blog post! Last month I had two trash jars, a regular jar for trash when I was in Cornwall and a small holiday jar for when I went away to Portugal! Feeling pretty impressed with how little trash I created when away to a place I had never been to before. I also managed to use up more items which I won't be purchasing again :)

Here's what's in my monthly trash jar:

Contents:

- Old membership card

- Next return sticker label

- A few random pieces of clear plastic (Forgotton what they were from)

- Plastic film from violife cheese packet #cravings

- X2 finished sticker sheets

- Plastic sleeve from a shop bought card - I wasn't prepared :(

- Plastic seal from a jar of food

- Clothing labels

- Envelope windows

- Pot noodle sauce sachet

- Fruit stickers

- Plastic lid and milk pull ring found under the fridge

- Plastic seal from olive oil bottle

- Rigid plastic cutoffs from having to buy new travel sickness bands

- 1 recipt

- Floss

- Plastic tags from items bought from charity shop

All of the rubbish I wasted fits into this small pringles tube which will be reused :) We stayed in self catering accommodation which made it easier for me to purchase items with little or no packaging.

Contents:

- Piece of bubble wrap which cannot be reused. I politely said I didn't need the gift wrapped but they wouldn't take no for an answer or didn't speak English very well.

- Plastic packaging from some pasta.

- Luggage labels from the airport

- A million receipts. Again, they just hand it to you before you can say anything

- Plastic lined lid from the pringles tube

- Plastic label which was inside the sunglasses case I bought

- Fruit labels including a pineapple label lined with plastic so it can't be recycled

- Floss

- Ketchup sachet which was needed for the driest chips I have ever had

- Plastic film from a tub of hummus

- Plastic tags from charity shop items

bottom of page