top of page

Whats in my trash jar? - July 2018


Long time no speak! Or write I should say! It's been a hectic July (work work work work) but I'm back at you with another monthly trash post! July has been... a struggle. I ended up in a lot of different situations which impacted my ability to refuse the evil single use plastics. Most of the issues that occurred however where my fault. Through my lack of organisation, laziness and clumsiness as you will see! It's been a fun month though. I've been camping, attended a few festivals, enjoyed the sun and went along to the opening of the brand new zero waste shop in my local area! I feel like it could have gone a lot worse. I refuse to be 'that mad' at myself for the amount of waste I created because we are human and sh*t happens, however I will defiantly be trying much harder this month!


What's in my trash jar?


- My last can of aerosol (No recyclable symbol)

- Plastic wrap from a sandwhich

- Envelope windows

- Camping bag labels which are lined with plastics

- Medication packet

- Plastic plant tags (when did they stop doing cardboard ones!!)

- Plastic seal tag from a glass jar

- Piece of rubber from my car

- Plastic sheet which came under my vegan burger (Hubbox sort it out please!)

- Fruit stickers and a sticky label

- Broken hairband

- Broken earphones

- Dental floss

- Vegan ice cream cone IN A PLASTIC WRAPPER! :@

- Festival wristband and swimming pool wristband... lined with plastic

- Old air freshener wrapper

- Soap package (I have a few wrapped ones to use up)

- Large clear bin bag which was used to store my wetsuit. It finally ripped.

- Car sticker from a festival

- Plastic clothing tags

- Staples

There are lots of and lots of bandages, plasters and sterile wipes in my trash jar. At the beginning of July I cut my leg open really bad. It is still healing and I'm having to use dressings to prevent the wound from opening up again. It has taken a loooooong time but it's finally getting there! In these situations I always put my health first. :)

bottom of page